The University of Málaga (UMA, Universidad de Málaga) is a public university established in 1972. With more than 36,000 students and 2,300 lecturers / teachers, the UMA offers 62 degree courses, 22 doctoral programmes, more than 60 master’s Degrees, and more than 80 internal degrees and 100 courses throughout the academic year. Teaching takes place in 26 centres by appointed lecturers in 81 departments distributed over two campuses.

About 278 research groups are actively involved in national and international research projects, and in public-private collaborative contracts. The patent portfolio includes about 240 active patents; up to 500 research agreements and contracts are yearly signed with a variety of business and private organization.

So far, UMA has participated in more than 100 international research projects, among which 46 were funded by FP7, 14 by Horizon 2020, and up to now, 8 projects have been coordinated.

Role in the project:

Within CoRob-X the UMA will be responsible for software developments, integrations and tests. The University will also contribute it’s Mobile Robotics Laboratory as well as it’s Surgical Robotics Laboratory and an experimental terrain of 10 hectares to the project.